Prev Article Next Article

Race for the Rings Begins with Testo Superbowl Shootouts in St. Louis

Posted By: Evan J. Smith
Race for the Rings Begins with Testo Superbowl Shootouts in St. Louis
Written By: Team ProMedia
Few prizes in drag racing are more coveted than the special edition Christmas Tree ring that Nitto Tires awards to the champions of the Testo Superbowl Shootouts, which will be held during the upcoming NMRA/NMCA Superbowl of Muscle Car Drag Racing at Worldwide Technology Raceway May 4-7.
Up for grabs at the NMRA/NMCA combo event is bonus cash of nearly $10,000, bragging rights, and the exclusive Nitto Diamond Tree ring.
This year, the format has changed a bit as the incoming points leader in each class will now take on the low qualifier from the St. Louis event in a winner-take-all battle. Should the points leader and the low qualifier be the same, the No. 2 points earner would then be eligible.
These shootouts will run on Saturday, May 6 at approximately 2 p.m. so the whole crowd can head for the stands and pull for their favorite drivers.
With the completion of the recent join event in Rockingham, N.C., we now know half of the field as the points leaders in each class have been established.
On the NMCA side, the leaders are Ty Tutterow (VP Racing Lubricants Pro Mod), Jonathan Allegrucci (Holley EFI Factory Supercar), Joe Clemente (Dart N/A 10.5), David Fallon Jr. (ARP Nitrous Pro Street), Martin Connelly (Edelbrock Xtreme Street), Kevin Lumsden (SDPC Chevrolet Performance Stock), Joe Ewing (Micro Strategies Super Stock), Bruce Boyle (Micro Strategies Stock), David Horton (QuickFuel Technologies Nostalgia Super Stock), Susan Roush-McClenaghan (Magnafuel Open Comp), Danny Towe (Erson Cams Nostalgia Muscle Car), Cody Poston (LME Street King) and Keith Vaughn (Proform Rumble).
The NMRA field will include the following drivers, Martin Connelly (VP Racing Maditives Renegade), Samantha Moore (Whatever it Takes Transmission Parts Limited Street), Ed Bennett (Coyote Stock), Matt Williams (Richmond Gear Factory Stock), Leticia Hughes (Suncoast 8.60 Street Race), Charlie McCulloch (Exedy Racing Clutches Mod Muscle), Terry Haynal (ARP Open Comp), Kevin McKenna (HP Tuners Super Stang), Johnny Lightning (Truck and Lightning), and Cindee Hall (Ford Muscle).
In addition, Nitto rings will be awarded to the overall winner of the TorqStorm/Circle D Converters True Street class as well as the Dodge Mopar Hemi class, the Best of Show winner of the UPR Car Show, and the winner of the special Jet Funny Car Shootout. All told, there will be 27 shiny new rings distributed to the winners following the conclusion of Saturday’s program.
“From the beginning, our Super Bowl events have been special. Bringing NMRA and NMCA together is like a shot of nitrous that revs up the excitement for racers in both series,” said Steve Wolcott, President and CEO of NMRA and NMCA. “This year we we’re adding a new element that not only makes it more fun for the fans, but more competitive and exciting for the racers.”
“Testo is defined by precision in engineering and reliability,” added Michael Ficacci, VP Testo North America. “Partnering with NMRA/NMCA makes all the right sense to us as we expand our support within the racing community.”

join our

email list

You’ll be first to know about NMCA events, race results and so much more!