Prev Article Next Article

NMCA Stage is Set for Epic Championship Battles in Indianapolis

Posted By: Evan J. Smith
NMCA Stage is Set for Epic Championship Battles in Indianapolis
By NMCA Staff
As the 2023 Red Line Oil Synthetic Oil NMCA Drag Racing series races towards its final stop at the 22nd annual NMCA World Street Finals presented by Chevrolet Performance, there are a total of 13 world champions that will be officially crowned at the conclusion of the event.
With the first five events in the books, some championships have already been decided, or are close to being decided, while others are wide open. The final race always brings maximum excitement and it will all down to the final rounds at the iconic Lucas Oil Indianapolis Raceway Park September 21-24.
The classes that are clinched include VP Racing Lubricants Pro Mod, Dart N/A 10.5, ARP Nitrous Pro Street, Edelbrock Xtreme Street, and SDPC Chevrolet Performance Stock.

Ty Tutterow clinched the title in VP Racing Lubricants Pro Mod thanks to a dominant season that has already included two wins and a runner-up finish. Tutterow, has already amassed 2,485 points, and is well in front of Mike Didomenico and Jeff Rudolf, who are second and third, respectively.
After a second-place finish last season, Joe Clemente has claimed the top spot in the Dart N/A 10.5 class with an impressive 1,095-point lead over second place Richard Nye. Clemente opened the season with a runner-up in Orlando and then won the next three events in Rockingham, St. Louis, and Martin to boost his score and put the title out of reach.

David Fallon Jr. has successfully defended his title in ARP Nitrous Pro Street thanks to a dominant campaign that includes four wins and a runner-up in five events! Fallon’s total of 3,000 points is the most of any competitor in the NMCA series and is 985 more than second place Kyle Salminen. Fallon’s only loss of the season came in the Rockingham final, and he’s also been the low qualifier at each event this season. 
The competition in Edelbrock Xtreme Street is brutal, but that didn’t seem to bother Martin Connelly, who held off Terry Wilson, Ray Cox, Bill Trovato, and others to clinch the top spot. Connelly earned wins in Orlando, Rockingham, Martin, and Norwalk to set the tone for a dominant season.
Another driver who cannot be caught is Kevin Lumsden, who has held off Keith Vaughn to claim the top honors in the SDPC Chevrolet Performance Stock class. Lumsden has victories in Orlando, St. Louis, and Martin to his credit, and has been the top qualifier at four of five races.

The race for the title in Holley EFI Factory Supercar isn’t as clear cut as Jonathan Allegrucci comes to Indy nursing a 175-point lead over Tony Scott while AJ Berge is just 315 points back in third. Even fourth place Chuck Watson II, at 490 points back, is mathematically in the running, which means that Allegrucci has work to do—even though he’s carded wins in Rockingham and St. Louis.
Hands-down, the best championship battle is in Micro Strategies Super Stock where Mark Nowicki, the reigning champ, leads former NHRA world champ Amy Faulk by just 17 points. And there are a handful of drivers mathematically in the running. Nowicki set the tone with a runner-up in Orlando, but Faulk has kept the pressure on thanks to a victory in St. Louis. Augustus Adkins, Dennis Breeden, Joe Ewing, and Skip McIntyre are also in the hunt.

In Micro Strategies Stock, the race isn’t quite as close as Bruce Boyle has a 600-point lead over George Cox. That means he likely needs to do little more than win the first round in Indianapolis to clinch the title. Boyle’s season includes a win in Orlando, coupled with a pair of strong semifinal finishes. It looks like one way or another he will improve on last year’s seventh-place showing.
In Quick Fuel Technologies Nostalgia Super Stock, David Horton has a comfortable, if not insurmountable 475-point cushion, over Jim Netherland. Doug Duell and Andrew Wheeler are lurking in the background and have a shot. Horton scored a clutch win at the most recent race at Summit Motorsports Park to help boost his chances for a title.
The battle for the top spot in Magnafuel Open Comp features a list of talented racers including leader Steve Satchell, who has the enviable task of holding off multi-time champ Susan Roush-McClenaghan. Satchell comes to Indy with a 295-point lead, which is significant, but not at all safe. Scott Williams and Taylor Dietsch are also still in the running in one of NMCA’s most popular classes. 
Reigning champ Danny Towe has the upper hand in World Products Nostalgia Muscle as he looks to possibly win two more titles this season. Towe, who also leads the Ford Muscle class in the Holley NMRA series, kicked off the season with a win and two runner-up finishes, and has a 550-point lead over Jeff Toepper going into the final event, while Cindee Hall remains in the championship picture. 

In LME Street King, Cody Poston has a good chance to back-up his 2022 title, but he’s needs to hold off a possible late-season rally by Kurt Anderson and Steve Satchell in order to get it done. Poston has a 460-point lead over Anderson and a 545-point lead against Satchell. Poston likely needs to win just one round to make it official.
Poston is looking to share the championship with his father, Tim, who is the incoming leader in Proform Rumble. Tim Poston has three victories this season and has built a 365-point lead over his rivals, including Orlando winner Keith Vaughn and Nick Massengale.
Each of the champions in the Red Line Oil NMCA Drag Racing Series will be officially honored during the awards ceremony held in Indianapolis on Friday, December 8 during the PRI trade show.

join our

email list

You’ll be first to know about NMCA events, race results and so much more!