All-Stars in Spotlight at NMCA All-American Nationals at Summit Motorsports Park

Sensational racing took center stage at the 16th Annual Honeywell Garrett NMCA All-American Nationals, Aug. 24-27, at Summit Motorsports Park in Norwalk, Ohio. There were wheelies, wild rides, and wondrous elapsed-times, and when it was all said and done, the Aerospace Components Winner’s Circle welcomed winners.

In VP Racing Fuels Xtreme Pro Mod qualifying, 13 out of 24 drivers delivered 3-second passes, and Billy Banaka led the field with a 3.78 in his Camaro. He took it all the way to the final to rumble with Jason Hamstra and his Camaro, and Hamstra hauled to a 3.86 to win over Banaka’s 4.05.

Dart Pro Stock saw Kevin Lawrence lead qualifying with a 7.19 in his Cobalt, and while he made it to the final, he fell to Rob Pearce and his Studebaker in the final when he was forced to lift and watch Pearce pull through the traps at 7.29 for the win.

Marty Stinnett managed to make it to the top in Mickey Thompson Radial Wars qualifying with a 3.98 in his Mustang despite the fact that he had to replace his flywheel in between sessions, but making it all the way to the final were Issac Preston and Josh Klugger. Preston’s Camaro and Klugger’s Mustang each carried the front wheels while traveling as straight as an arrow, and Klugger collected the win with a 4.01 to Preston’s 4.08.

David Barton drove to an 8.11 in his 2017 COPO Camaro to lead qualifying in Holley EFI Factory Super Cars, and was strong through the final round. There, he met up with Carl Tasca and his 2016 Mustang Cobra Jet, and after riding out a wheelie, he took the win light with an 8.12 to Tasca’s 8.19.

Rich Bruder blasted to a 4.37 — and an incredible 170 mph — in a Mustang owned by Manny Buginga, who was the only other driver in the class to achieve a 170 mph, to set the pace in VP Racing Fuels Street Outlaw. Buginga went on to the final, where he met up with Andrew DeMarco, and Buginga won the nail-biter of a race with a 4.38 to DeMarco’s 4.42.

While Don Baskin drove to a 7.29 in his Camaro to lead qualifying and made it to the final in ARP Nitrous Pro Street, his 7.41 wasn’t enough for the 7.39 Andy Vogt uncorked in his Trans Am.

Edelbrock Xtreme Street, which went from a quarter-mile class to an eighth-mile class in July, attracted 17 cars for this event, and standing out was Jessie Coulter, whose Camaro delivered him to a 4.70 to lead qualifying. He continued to stand out through the final, where he met up with Alex Hays, who was trying the class for the first time in his Mustang. Coulter collected the win with a 4.71 to Hays’ 4.78.

In Boninfante Racing NA 10.5, where naturally aspirated engines zing, David Theisen took his Firebird through the traps in 7.89 seconds to take the lead in qualifying. He was a force through eliminations, and wound up in the final to face Leonard Long. Theisen took the win with a 7.96, while Long lifted to a 9.26.

Jesse Wilson wheeled to a 10.09 in Kelly Pierce’s 2015 Camaro to lead qualifying in Chevrolet Performance Stock presented by Scoggin-Dickey Parts Center, and he remained on point on his way to the final. There, he won with a 10.15 over Haley Rounsavall, who ran to a 10.22 in her 2013 CRC Camaro.

In the ever-growing FSC Stock/Super Stock presented by E3 Spark Plugs, Dennis Breeden ran to a 9.48 in his Drag Pak to set the pace, but Daryl Bureski blasted to the win in his Olds with an 11.45 over Ricky Pennington, who pushed his Cobra Jet to a 10.66.

FSC Top Sportsman saw Scott Wasko drive his Lumina to a 6.56 to lead qualifying, but Dave Granger drove his Henry J to a 7.57 on a 7.24 and won over Chris Osborn, who had issues in his Camaro and couldn’t complete his pass.

Danny Jones stopped the clocks at 10.50 on his 10.50 index in his Coronet in ATI Performance Nostalgia Super Stock qualifying, but in the final, Doug Wright drove his Belvedere to a 9.30 and the win over Rick Neumeyer, who drove his Fury to an 11.06 for the runner-up.

Brad Spires was 10.50 on his 10.50 index in his Nova to take the top spot in Detroit Truetrac Nostalgia Muscle Car, but reigning class champion Andy Warren won with a 10.03 in his Caprice over Carl Gilbert, who was 10.55 in his Nova.

Jason Coomer recorded a 0.000 reaction time in his Monte Carlo to lead qualifying in the ultra-competitive MagnaFuel Open Comp, but Susan Roush McClenaghan had staying power and drove her Mustang to a 9.48 on a 9.46 dial over Larry Geddes, who recorded a 10.86 on a 10.83 dial in his Mustang.

The drivers in Gear Vendors True Street hung on through a late night of racing, and in the end, Justin May was the overall winner with an 8.23 average in his Firebird and Mike Martyn was the runner-up with an 8.72 average in his Mustang. George Chaboudy, III was the 9-second winner in his Mustang, Jeff Brady was the 10-second winner in his Camaro; Scott Smith was the 11-second winner in his Camaro; Nicholas Massengale was the 12-second winner in his Camaro; Pat Tyner took the 13-second win in his Mustang and Anthony Jager took the 14-second win in his Mustang.

Additional special components of this race were the Ford Performance Cobra Jet Showdown presented by Diversified Products Marketing, which Paul Roderick won with a 9.07 on a 9.04 over Rick Rodgers, who turned in an 8.90 on an 8.92. John Calvert won the Cobra Jet Challenge.

FSC Bracket 1 Box winner Bryan Yaeger opted to split the purse with Bracket 2 finalists AJ Buchanan and Tim Jordan.

Season championships are on the line at the not-to-be-missed conclusion to this year’s NMCA race season, the 16th Annual Scoggin-Dickey Parts Center Raceshop 16th Annual NMCA World Street Finals, Sept. 21-24 at Lucas Oil Raceway in Indianapolis, Indiana.