Prev Article Next Article

Poston Posts A Win In Jason Dietsch Trailer Sales Open Comp All-Star Showdown

Posted By: Evan J. Smith
Poston Posts A Win In Jason Dietsch Trailer Sales Open Comp All-Star Showdown
Written By: ProMedia Staff
Anytime racers from the NMRA and NMCA series have an opportunity to compete head-to-head, it brings out the best from each series. That was certainly the case when Open Comp racers clashed during last weekend’s 7th annual Jason Dietsch Trailer Sales Open Comp All-Star Showdown presented by Autokraft Racecars. 
The event, held in Rockingham during the 15th Annual NMRA/NMCA All-Star Nationals Presented by MAHLE Motorsport, featured 16 drivers from both the NMRA and NMCA drag racing series. NMCA regular Cody Poston captured the win following a thrilling final round against NMRA’s Bill Wittenauer.
Poston, of Roundhill, Ky., is the reigning series champion in the LME Street King class with his swift 8-second Camaro. He was also the No. 6 finisher in the Magnafuel Open Comp class, which made him eligible for the Open Comp Shootout.
Coming in as the No. 3 seed, Poston wheeled his Chevrolet past James Johnson Jr., Dana Tebay, and Jon Pickering, before clashing with Wittenauer in the final round. Poston’s best performance came in the quarterfinals where his nearly perfect .004-second reaction time keyed the win against Tebay.
With Manufacturer’s Cup and $1,500 in cash on the line, Whittenauer gained a big advantage off the starting line and crossed the finish line first, but he paid a heavy price for it with an 11.501 breakout on his 11.54 dial. Poston also broke out with an 8.953 against his 8.99 dial, but he was closer to the mark. 
Just to be one of the 16 drivers eligible to compete in the event was a major accomplishment, as the field was limited to the 2022 champions and the next spots were filled by top five in 2022 points and 2023 points to date combined racing at the event while another spot went to a wildcard driver who was selected via a drawing.
The final spot in each series was a blocker, who was selected by the champion of each series. Tebay (NMRA) and Steve Sctchell (NMCA) were chosen as the blockers.
The rules for the event were straightforward and followed the traditional Open Comp format where each racer’s index was determined by the deducting .10-second from their fastest run in the first two qualifying sessions of the weekend. The Open Comp classes (ARP Open Comp in NMRA and MagnaFuel Open Comp NMCA) historically draw some of the largest fields in both the NMCA and NMRA series with upwards of 30 cars racing at most events.
Through just two events this season, the Open Comp class has hosted more than 80 racers from across both series, a further testament to the competitive nature of the eliminator.

join our

email list

You’ll be first to know about NMCA events, race results and so much more!