Prev Article Next Article

NMCA Racers to Secure 2022 Championships & Points at Indiana Event

Posted By: Mary Lendzion
Written by Mary Lendzion
Photos by Kevin DiOssi and Rudy Rouweyha
NMCA racers are known for their dedication and devotion.
They set goals, they show up, they strap in, they take the stage and they make every effort to wheel to wins. Considering the caliber of competition across all of the categories, that is not an easy feat, but they push on. 
This year’s points chase has been exhilarating, and it will come to a compelling conclusion at the 21st Annual NMCA World Street Finals presented by Chevrolet Performance, Sept. 22-25, 2022 at Lucas Oil Indianapolis Raceway Park in Indiana. That’s where racers will give it everything they have to capture a championship, a top-ten finish in points or a trip to the NMCA Winner’s Circle, or to reach other goals.

“We have seen some incredibly intense competition this year,” said Rollie Miller, General Manager and National Event Director for NMCA and NMRA. “Our racers put a lot of effort and energy into ensuring that their cars are capable of leading the pack at every race, and their work has been worthwhile. Season championships and points will be determined by the smallest of margins at the race at Lucas Oil Indianapolis Raceway Park, and it's going to be exciting.”
In VP Racing Lubricants Xtreme Pro Mod, Randy Merick is currently leading points, with Derek Ward, Chip King and Tom Blincoe in second- through fourth-place. Rounding out the top ten are Jim Widener, David Monday, Craig Sullivan, Jason Hamstra, Harry Hruska and Robert Abbott. 
Tripp Carter is currently in the top position in Holley EFI Factory Super Cars, with Chuck Watson II right there in the second spot. Behind them for third through tenth spots are A.J. Berge, Jim Betz, Terry Munroe, Doug Hamp, Tony Scott, Bill Skillman, Mark Pawuk and Carl Tasca.
Joe Clemente and Leonard Long have the number one and two positions in the high-windingDart NA 10.5, with David Theisen, Robbie Blankenship, Rocko KhouryTony PetrovskiDwight Ausmus, John Langer, Dan Ostgen and Don Baskin holding down the remainder of the top ten.

In the adrenaline-fueled ARP Nitrous Pro Street, keep an eye on points leader David Fallon well as Vince Khoury, Nicole Liberty, Bill Garrock, Kyle SalminenJohn Trobiani, Don BaskinAlan Drinkwater, Derik Timmer and Johnny Mag.
Haley Burkhammer, who has been hanging the front tires on her Camaro all season, is currently leading Chevrolet Performance Stock presented by Scoggin-Dickey Parts Center points, and the remaining eight racers in the category fill out the top nine. Respectively, they are Glenn Pushis, Scott Brown, Shawn Calabrese, Keith Vaughn, Kevin Lumsden, Jason Dietsch, Don Baskin and Scotty Duncan.
Longtime racer Joel Greathouse, who has been tough all season, goes into this race with the lead in Edelbrock Xtreme Street points, with Bill Trovato, Tony Orts, Becki Cram, Tom Hammonds, Steven Wardlow, Nick McGrath, Jessie Coulter, Alton Clements and Dave Fiscus occupying second through tenth positions.
Mark Nowicki leads his fellow Fastest Street Car Magazine Super Stock competitors, and hot on his heels are Steven Hall, Bruce Lang, Jeff Ross, Augustus Adkins, Joe Ewing, Paul Roderick, Robbie Butler, Amy Faulk and Randall Running.
Dave Swanson goes into this final race of the season with the points lead in Fastest Street Car Magazine Stock Eliminator, and not far behind him are John Astrab, Bryce Rohrs, Randy Eakins, Doug Duell, Pete Ricart, Bruce Boyle, V. Cummings, Daren Poole-Adams and Michael Butter.

The talented top ten in Quick Fuel Technology Nostalgia Super Stock points are Bruce Lang, followed by Doug Duell, Mike Davis, Brent Wheeler, Scott Conley, Joe Ewing, Tim Frees, Jim Netherland, Jeff Bourcier and Doug Poskevich.
Danny Towe is currently enjoying the lead spot in Detroit Truetrac Nostalgia Muscle, and right behind him, respectively, are racers Ralph Trimmer, Jerry Stamps, David Mormann, Jeff Toepper, Noel Winters, Mike Slaviero, Don Fotti, Jacob Weigl and Cindee Hall.
Ohio racer Jon Pickering is positioned in the first spot in MagnaFuel Open Comp going into this final race of the year, and he joins Anthony Lupinacci, Scott Williams, John Hixon, Taylor Dietsch, Cody Poston, Kurt Anderson, Charlie Atkinson, John Sizemore and Mike Winters, in that order, in attempting to hold onto, or improve upon, top-ten positions.
In LME Street King, Casey Martin is the points leader heading into the 21st Annual NMCA World Street Finals presented by Chevrolet Performance, and close behind him, in second- through tenth-place respectively, are Michael PrykaCody Poston, Kurt Anderson, Chris Brooker, Steve Satchell, Steve Griswold, Don Dixon, Joshua Bryant and Al Corda.
Regina Puckett is sitting pretty with the points lead in Proform Rumble, and rounding out the top-ten are Tim Poston, Bobbie Strong, Alan Kasper, Kevin Rowand, DeWayne Massengale, Keith Vaughn, Nicholas Massengale, Angel Gaulden and Richard Mace.
Points in all categories will be carefully calculated after the 21st Annual NMCA World Street Finals presented by Chevrolet Performance. 
Please watch for stories about each of our champions on and as well as in Fastest Street Car magazine, and help us celebrate them at the Red Line Oil NMCA Muscle Car Nationals Awards Ceremony, Dec. 9, 2022, during the Performance Racing Industry Trade Show at Indiana Convention Center.

join our

email list

You’ll be first to know about NMCA events, race results and so much more!