NMCA West Champions Honored

The inaugural NMCA WEST season concluded last night as champions of the Flowmaster NMCA WEST Drag Racing Series were honored during a ceremony held at Edelbrock’s museum facility in Torrance, Calif. Known as “Vic’s Garage,” it was the perfect backdrop for this year’s ceremony, attended by nearly 400 racers, crew members, family, and sponsors.

Honored  were racers who placed in the top ten of his or her eliminator as well as each class champion.


2012 Class Champions

Jeff Interlicchia, Calvert Racing Quick Street

Andrew Madrid, FSC Super Quick

Stephen Porcho, Granatelli Motor Sports Mustang Madness

Dustin Lee, B&M Open Comp

Mike Nordahl, Hedman Hedders Nostalgia Street Car

Cedrick Washington, ARP Outlaw 8.5

Tony Aneian,Mcleod/AMP Naturally Aspirated  10.5

Kevin Young, ProCharger 275 Drag Radial

Al Jimenez, Mickey Thompson True 10.5

Mike Bowman, Garrett Pro Street


Each champion received an NHRA Unleashed /Aerospace  “Double Tier” Championship Wally, as well as a Nitto Diamond Tree Championship ring.


Special recognition was also given to several racers, sponsors and other supporters of the NMCA WEST.


Specialty Award Winners:

Rookie of the Year Winner: Lauren Hargrove

Crew Member of the Year Winner: Dave Murray

Ambassador of the Year Winner:  Ron DeHoop

Sportsman of the Year Winner: Kevin Kleinewebber


NMCA WEST Ambassadors:

Ruth DeHoop

Mark Rapp

“Flyer” Dave May

John Calvert

KJ Jones

James Lawrence

Dan Bott

“Gasket” Dave Purcell

Scott “Lucky” Hudson

Mike Porcho



NMCA WEST Signature Award Winners:

Steve Cox

Mark Washington

Eric Gustafson

Hank Pramov

Darrel Hubbard

Terry Barkley

“Mustang” Sal Ybarra

Tom Easterday

Larry Madrid

Kenny Snow